top of page
  • B. McEvilly

Tourmaline Club Classic

This weekend brought epic weather and a little surf to the 8th annual Tourmaline Classic hosted by Cardiff Reef Club and Pacific Beach Club, but the comp team showed up in the finals in just about every division except 2! And the highlights were many...

In the paddle race Joel Tudor gave us a strong start in second with Tiare Thompson bringing us in contention for 1st by catching a wave in! The gap only grew with our anchor crossing the line with a strong lead.

We had mother-daughter "Team Miller" competing with menehune Maddie in her first coalition event placing 4th in Menehune girls! Michelle styled it into the finals on her frye, graceful as ever. Her first event back representing windansea, she was one of the lucky club members that traveled to Brazil 20 years ago!

Another family duo had good results. Menehune Tosh Tudor killed it in the menehune boys final. Proud dad Joel Tudor catching 2 of the best waves in the event brought home 1st in Senior Mens and was part of the winning paddle race team.

Other hightlights included Indy Callaway, our "soul" masters woman who surfed in all 3 divisions making the finals in SUP and LB. Competitor Mike Gillard pulled double 1st in SB and LB! Rory Engh won her first coalition event!

We brought one of our strongest Junior team to this event with Matt Perrault, Mick Davey, Jacob Kelly, Hana McEvilly, Molly Tuschen, Emma Luhier and Tiare Thompson all making the finals. It was also nice to see veteran members like Tad Hodsen, Adam Bloomberg, Ozstar deJourday, Ricky Cunningham, and Isaac Wood putting on a show and making the average surf look unreal. Special thanks to VP Bill Brazil for surfing the Presidents Heat for Chip who was out of town, every point counts. And a big thank you to all the windansea family that came out to cheer, support and volunteer - we love you all!



Menehune Girls

1st - Rory Engh

4th - Maddie Rubacalva Miller (1st club contest)

Menehune Boys

1st - Tosh Tudor

Junior Men 14-19

3rd Matthew Perrault

5th Mick Davey

Junior Women 14-19

2nd - Tiare Thompson

3rd - Molly Tuschen

5th - Hana McEvilly

Women 20-34

Senior Women 35-49

5th - Michelle Miller

Masters Women 50+

4th Indy Callaway

Men 20-29

3rd - Ricky Cunningham

Senior Men 30-39

3rd - Isaac Wood

Masters Men 40-49

1st - Joel Tudor

6th - Brian McEvilly

Grand Masters Men 50-59

1st - Mike Gillard

Legends Men 60-69

5th Ozstar DeJourday

Grand Legends 70+

Open Shortboard

1st - Mick Davey

3rd - Jacob Kelly

6th - Graham Miller

Men Shortboard 40+

1st - Mike Gillard

5th - Brian McEvilly

Women Shortboard

1st - Tiare Thompson

6th - Hana McEvilly

SUP Men 50+

2nd - Tad Hodsen

SUP Women

2nd - Indy Callaway

4th - Emma Luhier

SUP Open

3rd - Adam Bloomberg


4th - Spike Cane


2nd - Brian and Illa McEvilly

Presidents Heat

6th - Bill Brazil

Paddle Race

1st - Joel Tudor, Tiare Thompson, Lorenzo Villeja, Kellen Lovell, Graham Miller

The club placed 2nd overall

for more photos, videos and highlights, check out windansea's social feeds insta: @windanseasurfclub fb: @windanseasurfclub and team captain Brian McEvilly on insta @b_mce

130 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Windansea Surf Club

a 501(c)3 Non-Profit

PO Box  438

La Jolla,CA 92038


bottom of page